Writing Process

I’m taking a few minutes from my day job (writing) to write about my passion (also writing), thanks to my friend and writing partner, Angélique Jamail.

Q: What am I working on at the moment?

A: Aside from the 20+ advertorials and profile pieces I write each month for UpClose Magazine, I’m also working on my second novel and a few short stories. The short story is a literary piece on ambiguous loss and I’m at the point now where I have the majority of it…I just have to keep putting in the right bits and taking the excess out. The novel is a crime novel set in Providence RI. It’s the sequel to one I wrote that earned me representation by an agent, but then failed to find a home at a major publishing house. I’ve written 7/8th’s of it, and have gone back to the beginning and am a third of the way through the revisions.

Q: How does my work differ from others of its genre?

A: I’m always trying to find a balance between the action and the interiority of the characters. Who they are informs what they do. I don’t know if that makes me different, but it’s what keeps me interested.

Q: Why do I write what I do?

A: I’ve been told that for a “basically happy person I write some seriously unhappy fiction.”

My short fiction is a way to deal with places I feel emotional friction. Relationships, lack of closure, longing for connection. I let my subconscious play around and use imagery and mood, experiment with form.

My novels are definitely entertainment and I prefer crime (or murder mysteries) probably because I find death one of the major problems. Being human means we are finite, and for someone to cut short the life we might have lived is a terrible thing. But to read about it or to watch it or to write about it (hopefully) serves as a reminder about how good living is.

Q: How does my writing process work?

A: Some days like this one, my writing is one tab among many on my laptop. When I was pulling into the garage on my way back from an interview for the magazine, I realized the scene I’ve been trying to revise needs to be told from a different POV. I’d already tried a different location, but that wasn’t the issue at all. And I couldn’t have done it from this perspective initially, because the right character was still a bit of an enigma to me the first go-round.

I rack up the words by typing when I have the chance, writing longhand when I can’t stand to look at the screen anymore, and setting artificial deadlines for myself. I have two amazing writing groups…and their feedback is worth pushing myself to finish a few more pages than I might have on my own. I also meet Angélique Jamail on Saturday mornings at 7am to write before taking the kids to karate, or a soccer game, or a birthday party.

And I will say that writing for a living, while it can make me tired of looking at a computer screen, does remind me that putting words on a page is not a mystical process. Getting them right takes work, not magic. The magic is knowing that there are an infinite number of stories to be told.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing Process

  1. Well said, my dear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

