Food-Shaped Food Day 1

Asalmonnights part of our effort to eat (in the words of my husband) more “food-shaped food,” our family is using a meal plan offered by my sister, Mary Curtis Powell at SpritelyLife.com. Initially we all enjoyed reading the notes that prefaced each menu, and I found it comforting that not every component of every meal was loved by every member of her family. In my experience, there’s no food on earth every member of my family enjoys equally.
My husband used the grocery list (after I edited off the things like Siracha that we already had). He really doesn’t like fish, but he chose a lovely wild-caught fresh salmon from the fish counter. Since it was fresh, we did Wednesday’s Salmon, Kale, and Sweet Potato meal as our first of the five meals.

Of course, I was out all afternoon (interview for work followed by High Tea with friends) and Tim & the kids were enjoying the new “Fire & Rescue” movie, so I got a late start on dinner. I pricked the sweet potatoes with a fork and microwaved them for 10 min to get a head start on things. The marinade was easy to make, especially since I have a jar of pre-minced garlic in the fridge. I covered the salmon and the chicken breast tenders for Tim, peeled the potatoes and cut them more like fries, and put the potatoes, and the prewashed, precut kale on a baking sheet for 25 min. When the time went off, I slid the proteins in and set the timer for another 20 min.

DIsclaimer: I have made kale chips before and have been (repeatedly) the only one who likes them….although I was hopeful that after Jane’s cousin Ali ate them with gusto, she might take another stab at them. As a backup measure, I softened some extra kale by squeezing it and put it in a dish as a salad. The kids loved loved loved the salmon. After eating some with a fork, Ben ate the remainder in bread as a sandwich. Neither was enthusiastic about the kale chips, but they did eat some of the salad. Tim liked the marinade on the chicken, and they all enjoyed the sweet potato “fries.”
We did have a little salmon left over, and it was delicious on a salad for lunch the next day.
Tonight we’re having dinner with friends, but tomorrow we’re planning on Black Bean Soup and Cheese Quesadillas. yum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Food-Shaped Food Day 1

  1. Yum! 🙂 You inspired me to post a healthy recipe on my blog today, too! http://wp.me/p1MOqK-qI

Leave a Reply

