Two More Meals

We finished our 3 meals/1 grocery bag trio from Rachael Ray’s “Week in a Day” cookbook and I think we have a keeper (or two)!

I enjoyed 10 Shallot Spaghetti and Kale without drowning it in tomato sauce. Also good as leftovers the next day!

I enjoyed 10 Shallot Spaghetti and Kale without drowning it in tomato sauce. Also good as leftovers the next day!

Yesterday I discovered that a) our local grocery store doesn’t carry shallots (according to my husband who, when I picked some up later in the day made me describe in detail exactly where they had been). In fairness, they weren’t where I would have put them (by the onions). Instead they were over with “fancy stuff” like tomatillos and serrano peppers. And I learned that b) there’s absolutely no reason not to cook your greens with your pasta. Just throw them in four minutes before the pasta is done and then drain them together. And  best of all c) my kids will eat pasta with shallots and kale, provided tomato sauce and cheese are also provided. I will definitely make “10-Shallot Spaghetti with Kale” again…and you can too by following this link.

"Drunken Steak with Oven Fries"

“Drunken Steak with Oven Fries”

Today after one heck of a hectic day, we enjoyed “Drunken Steak with Peppery Oven Fries.” I made oven roasted rainbow cauliflower to go along with it. Despite the exciting name, the steak was simply marinated in red wine, balsamic vinegar, EVOO (to quote Ms. Ray) and some seasoning. The kids aren’t really meat eaters, although Ben applied BBQ sauce and claimed the steak was good. Tim and I enjoyed it. Everyone enjoyed the fries…they were soaked, then baked, then baked again. Ben would like them thicker, but Jane and Tim both enjoyed how dark and crispy they were…and neither of the kids appeared at all worried by the thyme used in the seasoning (I was out of rosemary). I would say this was a good dinner, but not necessarily one I’d repeat.

So tired now. Time for knitting, watching “Criminal Minds,” and chilling with the dog.

more technicolor knits for nieces

more technicolor knits for nieces

This entry was posted in fun family time, healthy life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment