Six Months of Scandinavian Crime Fiction

Since about June, I’ve been reading (almost exclusively) crime fiction from Sweden, Norway, and Denmark with occasional forays into Iceland, Holland, and surrounds.

In the last month, I’ve been taking a break, reading a few things for book club, some non fiction, some British novels. Then today at the library, this:

lib11

I have a list of authors I’d been working on for a friend, and I saw many of my new favorites on the display…and some new names, too! Today will be photos, tomorrow I’ll post the first part of that list.

You probably recognize Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell (best known for his Detective Wallander). My dad’s been reading Jo Nesbo…and some of the books I’ve been reading aren’t here. Hopefully, they’re currently being read and enjoyed by others.

I’ll close with a quote from one of my favorites:

“Scandinavian crime fiction has become a great success all across the world and rightfully so. Sjowall and Wahloo ushered in a whole generation of Swedish crime writers, many of whom are now available in English.”~Camilla Läckberg

This entry was posted in Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

